Cowan Sworn In As Veterans Board Member For Dawson County

The Dawson County Commissioners met for a regular meeting on Friday, July 1, 2016.
Under committee reports Chairman Butch Hagan reported that the county roads shop building in Lexington is in need of some repairs, especially on its roof.
“We need to procure bids on the repairs and include them in the 2016-2017 budget,” Hagan noted. “We also need new pick-ups for the roads department,” he continued.
Judge John Wightman swore in new Veterans Board Member Andrew Cowan at the meeting.
Dawson County Sheriff Gary Reiber appeared with the Distress Warrant Report from November 1, 2015 to June 15, 2016.
A total of $59,823.86 in distress warrants was received. $40,906.03 was collected.
After diligent search and being unable to find property upon which to levy after several years, Reiber recommended striking $18,405.16.
Dawson County Weed Superintendent Marty Craig presented the contract between Two Rivers Public Health Department and the Dawson County Weed Department. Dawson County Deputy Attorney Kate Gatewood had wanted to make some changes in the contract and it hasn’t been returned.
June Blauvelt, Gothenburg Chamber of Commerce, was approved for reappointment to the Dawson County Visitors Committee.
The Dawson County Board of Equalization met prior to the Board of Commissioners meeting.
Following executive session, the negotiated TERC settlements for Robert Boumann and Stanley Obermiller were approved.
The board members also approved a resolution concerning the hearing policy for property value protests. 
The resolution states that protesters, their agents or representatives may no longer appear by phone in protest hearings.
The vehicle tax exemption request for the 1995 Wabash owned by the Nebraska District Council of the Assemblies of God was approved.
Tax corrections for Cornhusker Energy in Lexington were also approved.
The next regularly scheduled meetings for the Dawson County Board of Equalization and the Dawson County Commissioners will be held on Friday, July 15, 2016 beginning at 8:00 a.m. in the Commissioners Room of the Dawson County Courthouse in Lexington, NE.

Kearney Cinema



Login Form