Cozad Students Chosen To Receive Nebraska Young Artist Awards

Melissa Estrada, Kaitlyn Spaulding, Aaliyah Wilkins, Hanna Wright, all Cozad High School students were recently chosen to receive the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Hixson-lied College of Fine and Performing Arts 20th annual Nebraska Young Artist Awards. They will all be honored for their work in dance.
The awards annually recognize 11th-grade students from Nebraska for their talents in visual art, dance, music, theatre, and film and new media. These students exemplify the pinnacles of creativity in one of the fine and performing arts.
Fifty-three students from nearly 30 high schools across the state have been selected to participate in a special day of activities April 5th at the university.
Students applied for the recognition and submitted an example of their work. Applications were received from 126 students across the state. Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts faculty chose the winners.
Honored students will take tours of the arts facilities, attend classes, meet faculty and college students and have lunch. Their parents will be invited, and they will also take tours, as well as receive information on careers in the arts and college curriculum.
Students selected to participate in the Nebraska Young Artist Awards will also be asked to nominate the teacher who provided them with the greatest amount of mentoring and support in the development of their talents.
The day will conclude with an awards ceremony. Students will receive a certificate and an original piece of artwork commissioned for the event and created by School of Art, Art History and Design printmaking student Hannah Demma.

Kearney Cinema



Login Form