TRIBUNE-Area To Decide Many Races During General Election On Tuesday

Getting excited are the voters that will be a factor in the upcoming General Election at all levels. Along with the national race for President, there are many races in Dawson County and surrounding areas that have the interest of local voters. 
Nebraska’s third district congressional position has an incumbent as the lone candidate on the ballot. Republican Adrian Smith is seeking the position. 
On the State ticket, Republican Mary Ridder is the lone individual listed on the ballot for Public Service Commissioner District Five. Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in Nebraska Michael Heavican is seeking re-election along with Supreme Court Justice John Wright. Court of Appeals Judge Frankie Moore looks to retain his position. As Judges of the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court: Daniel Fridrich, John Hoffert and James Coe are all seeking re-election. 
Seeking re-election as Judges of the District Court are James Doyle IV and David Urbom. Annie Paine and Jeff Wightman are seeking to be retained as Judges of the County Court. 
With the open Central Platte Natural Resource District Board Member position open, there are two candidates vying for the two-year term. Charles Bicak and Keith Ostermeier are the two finalists. For the Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District- Dawson Subdivision: Dave Rowe and Kent Aden are the two candidates listed on the ballot for the six-year term. 
Looking to regain their positions as Dawson County Commissioners are incumbents: Dean Kugler, District 1; PJ Jacobsen, District 4; and Butch Hagan, District 5. 
The trio of Dale Gengenbach, Matt Hothem and Thurman Williams look to fill the three openings on the Dawson County Weed Board. 
On the Lexington School Board, there are three positions open with four candidates listed on the ballot that include: Larry Steinberger, Al Copper, Cindy Benjamin and Carlos Saiz. 
In Cozad there is a predicted close competition for the three open Board of Education positions. Seeking to fill those positions are: Joel Carlson, Ann Burkholder, Troy Hosick, Dallas Schroeder and Michele Starman.
There are three positions on the Gothenburg School Board open with three candidates listed on the ballot that include Jeremy Sitorius, Kyle Fornoff and Becky Jobman. 
The foursome of Nicholas Niemeier, Thomas Martin, Shelly Jorges and Kelly Gydesen are vying to fill the three open positions on the Elwood School District 40 Board of Education. 
The Eustis/Farnam District 95 School Board has three openings with three candidates that include: Ginger Craig, Alan Smith and John Keller all looking to fill the open positions. 
Lexington’s City Council has three positions and Linda Miller, Dora Vivas and Jeremy Roberts are listed on the ballot. 
Cozad has an opening in the east and west wards: with Ronald Olds and Charlie Block running uncontested in each ward, respectively. 
Gothenburg City Council has Randall Waskowiak and Jeffrey Kennedy on the ballot for the two openings. 

Kearney Cinema



Login Form