SPORTS REWIND: A look back at 30-years from the TRIBUNE files


Derek Weeder of Atlanta was the overall champion of the Eustis Lions Club Demolition Derby. Troy Kuck and Luke Evans, both of Bertrand earned podium finishes with their second and third place showings at the crashfest held in the Eustis Rodeo Arena. Along with taking home third place winnings, Evans was declared the ‘Mad Dog’ winner as well. Luke’s brother Josh Evans was fourth overall, with Leon Pearson of Kearney breaking his stick just before Evans to earn fifth place accolades.




Bob Nutt will take over the helm of a Cozad softball team that has a recent history as good as most programs in the state. The Lady Haymakers are coming off five straight trips to the state tournament, two in Class B and three in Class C. Cozad won the 2001 and 2002 Class C state titles and finished as runner-up in Class B in 1999. The Lady Haymakers have 11 letter winners back in camp. That group includes seniors Tanya Terry and Jenny Volk; juniors, Jenny Al-um, Kylee Goings, Allison Hendricksen and Saranne Hock and sophomores Brooke Conroy, Chelsea Norris, Mallory Nutt, Mattie Trejo and Heather Wolf.




Gothenburg cross country coaches Steve Reeves and Lynnette Stevens have a dozen letter winners back in 1999. Seven of the letter winners are on the girls squad. Senior letter winners for the girls are Ashley Clark, Shannon Schultz and Angel Williams. Cassie Holmes, Devan Kreis and Jackie Penry are the junior letter winners, with Laura McDiarmid the lone sophomore letter winner. The five boys who earned letters a year ago include seniors Travis Holm, Jeremy Kline and Jason Walker; junior Tyler Fickenscher and sophomore Wade Penry.





The Lexington boys tennis squad of 1994 will feature a roster heavy in seniors and letter winners. It’s the second season ever for tennis at Lexington and the first for Coach Ed Sieck who replaced Steve Lemon. The balance of Sieck’s junior-less roster is made up of two sophomores and three freshman. Returning letter winners are Jacob Bliven, Troy Saulsbury, George Ambriz, John Maloley, Justin Lauby and Luke Franzen. Those six are joined by Barry McFarland to form a seven-man nucleus of experienced seniors.




Girls’ volleyball prospects at Gothenburg High School are strengthened by the return of seven seniors and nine junior players. Head coach Sandy Burke has experienced players to install in practically every position. Seniors in the lineup include Lisa Collins, Jennifer Stauss, Mary Karol Raymond, Rebecca Hecox, Jina Aden, Nancy Dishman and Jodi Aden.

A new coach and a new season. That’s the confronting situation for girls’ volleyball at Cozad High School. Beth Putnam assumed the tutor chores, and as a Thursday night opener against Broken Bow approaches, she gazes upon the new season with much optimism. Putnam said, “We have a good bunch of seniors, who like to hustle and work hard.” She also noted that several underclass girls are bolstering the situation too. Mary Mackowski, one of seven seniors on the roster, has attracted much praise from Putnam after the early workouts. “Mary is a polished player to be reckoned with—she should be an outstanding all-around performer and an excellent spiker,” Putnam said.




The Cozad football players competed in a pentathlon during conditioning week. Five new records were established by the 1984-team members. Juniors Scott Rupp and Kevin Smith scored the most total points in the competition at 455 points. Rupp was the top lineman and Smith the leading back for the juniors. In the senior class Mark Montgomery was the top lineman with 415 points and Charlie Garner scored 445 point to top the senior backs. It was Kelly Fredrickson scoring 285 points as the top sophomore lineman. Tied as the top sophomore backs were Tim Cass and Greg Krason with 395 points.


Featured Businesses